The Divided States of America will continue to burn.

divided states of america

The “F” stands for “fiddlesticks”.

In all seriousness, today was a particularly disturbing and bloody day in America. As I’m sure you all have heard, there was a shooting in Virginia that resulted in Rep. Steve Scalise now being in critical condition and three other individuals wounded (not to mention the shooter is dead, but oh well); four people were killed and three injured at a UPS facility in San Francisco before the shooter turned the gun on himself (last I checked, no motive was given–I wonder if the shooter was a disgruntled employee, if he had beef with coworkers, or if problems at home had brought him to a breaking point. Not that any of those things are excuses); a man was shot in New York after some type of altercation; apparently the US is responsible for the deaths of countless civilians in Syria; and I am sure there are other instances of violence of which I am currently unaware.

You know what’s messed up about all of this? Twenty years ago, I think Americans would have been in some type of unanimous panic about the violence that has swept our nation. But now, we’re so divided among racial lines, along political lines, along socioeconomic lines, that we can’t even agree that there is a problem. As I perused the message boards associated with the miscellaneous articles about the chaos that was today, I was disheartened by the bickering taking place. The main theme involved conservatives blaming liberals and liberals blaming conservatives. I am beyond SICK of those two terms. To say I am SICK of them is actually an understatement. In most of the exchanges I could not tell if grown people were talking or if a couple of eleven-year-old boys were arguing. It was absolutely pathetic.

America was built on division. We haven’t yet overcome it, and we’re getting more and more divided. All throughout her painful history, in a struggle for power, there has always been one group pitted against another. I have not yet figured out all of the reasons why, but I can say the pursuit of power and money and this thing called capitalism are major players (honestly, would capitalism work as well if there wasn’t a single group of people that could be exploited??), but I can say the tone from our nation’s leadership has not helped.

In the Bible, we saw examples of how leadership affected the nation of Israel in particular. Each time Israel had a Godly leader, the nation enjoyed peace and prosperity. When they had an ungodly leader and fell back into idolatry and complacency, there was warfare, strife and suffering. See the parallels?

My mind is weary, so I’m going to attempt to watch something light-hearted and relax. I’ve got my feet propped up, as a new symptom has taken hold within the last few weeks–especially in the morning or when I’ve done a lot of walking, it feels like I am walking on broken glass. I don’t know what it is, but I am too fit to be tied with yet ANOTHER unexplainable symptom.

As I close for the night, I have to wonder how more people are not paying attention. The Word talks to us about this very thing. God has to be looking down upon us with major disappointment. I don’t think he is going to allow this humanity experiment to continue much longer. Second Timothy 3:1-5 tells us this:

“But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God- having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with such people.”

Am I the only one seeing this manifest? Or how about this one:

“Because of the increase of wickedness, the love of most will grow cold…”  (Matt. 24:12).

Isn’t it obvious that these divisions arise because the love people used to have for others has grown cold?

I guess the question that I will ponder for the rest of the night is this:

How do we get it back?

America cannot continue on this path.

 

 

Leave a Reply

