WHY are you…YOU?

I love America, but she can be plastic and shallow at times.

For the life of me I cannot understand why people would want everyone to look and act the same–variety is the spice of life.

As  I worked on my Sunday school lesson earlier today, I had to stop and think. The theme of these next lessons is “God loves us”. Before I knew it, I had forgotten about the lesson itself as my mind wandered as to what that REALLY means.

This same God who created the expanse of the heavens (first heaven is the atmosphere that we can see, the second is the universal heaven which includes the stars and planets and the third is the one that sits above all, where God resides) and this entire earth thought it needed YOU. That should make you proud to be who you are.

Think of the creative process. My creative magnificence comes alive when I write. I am excited during the process of writing–I cannot wait to see the finished product. I work and work and touch and retouch and edit until I am pleased with what I have done. After I have put all of that work in, I am  ALWAYS satisfied with what I have accomplished. I can only imagine how that satisfaction will be compounded once I finally have a book in print, but that is beside the point.

If you notice, all throughout the Bible, whenever God creates something, it is for His pleasure, and once He has finished one of His works, He is satisfied. Despite your flaws, God is satisfied with you as you were when He made you, and your creation brought Him pleasure. His pleasure becomes joy when you accept Him and establish a relationship with Him.

I’m sure I have said it before, but it bears repeating, because in this cold world we oftentimes feel ordinary, dull and unimportant. That is because we often attempt to chase the approval of people instead of God. The problem with that is that people are too fickle and their standards change. Prime example: It offends me that the features that used to get Black people clowned on in terms of standards of beauty–full lips, for one–are now considered “trendy”. Ummm, facial features are not “trends”. They are just that–facial features.

If you really think about it, it is amazing what God has done. Humans typically have two eyes, one nose, and a mouth. Isn’t it something that there is so much diversity in how people look, despite only having those limited choices of facial features??? And again, think of God’s satisfaction. Imagine, if you can,  God standing before a blank canvas (of course we know God is a spirit and not a bald guy in a robe, but go with me here, as He can, with His omnipotence, transform Himself into anything He so chooses) as he surveys the earth.

“I think the time is right for a (insert your name here).”

Have you ever gotten one of those creative bursts where you absolutely cannot stop working until you’ve finished? There have been times when I wrote for several hours straight, out of pure pleasure and excitement, not because I had to. I imagine this was God when He was designing you. I doubt He took any breaks. But I think He was careful to select the features and attributes that would guarantee this (insert your name here) was going to bring Him satisfaction. He also equipped you with gifts and tools to glorify His name here on earth. I imagine Him giving you a tender kiss before he packaged you lovingly and gently placed you in your mother’s womb.

Unlike man, God’s love for you doesn’t change over time, and it is not conditional. People will love you for a season, at least until they get tired of you, but guess what–God won’t get tired of you. He won’t turn His back on you, like people will. Even when you go astray and deny Him, He still loves you and waits hopefully for your return. The creator of this universe He is, yet He desires a relationship with little old YOU! Can you imagine that? It’s a gift to be able to talk to the creator of all things about your problems, your hopes, your desires. Who else can fix your life in those areas? And it’s so simple. You don’t need formalities or a middle man. Just talk to Him.

Only by fully understanding how special I am to God was I able to fully move past my physical imperfections. We all have them. Now, I don’t mean to say that if people are unhappy with something they shouldn’t change it, to a certain extent. I will say that if your desire to change yourself physically has been motivated by other people and their ridiculous beauty standards–which I would dare to believe is the case the majority of the time–I would encourage you to think twice about exactly what it is that makes you beautiful, and whose opinion of your beauty is more important.

You are who you are because God made you exactly what He wanted you to be. If people can’t appreciate who you are, they can go kick rocks and you can find people who will. They’re out there. God had a purpose in mind when He designed you, and that purposeful design includes your physical features.

“That which we have seen and heard we proclaim also to you, so that you too may have fellowship with us; and indeed our fellowship is with the Father and with his Son Jesus Christ. And we are writing these things so that our joy may be complete.” (1 John 1:3-4)

relationship-over-religion

Leave a Reply

