Monday madness, my style

A number of stories have garnered my attention this week.

Just like millions of other Americans, I have been paying close attention to Oregon and South Carolina, praying for the people at Umpqua Community College, especially the victims, their families, and the survivors. I read that the people of that area are not trying to give the shooter the infamy he hoped to gain by committing the crime. I’m going to respect their wishes. His name will never appear on my blog again. I agree with them. These are the people who ought to be talked about, from here on out, not only to honor their memories, but also to show any other LOSER who might be thinking of doing something similar that their name will be blotted out of society:

Victims of the Umpqua Community College shooting

Their families have to be absolutely heartbroken. Perhaps because my pain is still fresh from my Dad, who at least died a natural death, I really feel for those surviving people. I can’t imagine what they are going through right now. My Dad went peacefully, and I am still consumed with thoughts about wondering if he was afraid or at peace, or lonely or anything like that when he died. I can only imagine the questions those family members are asking themselves right now.

I have to wonder why the mother of the shooter has not said anything. Is she responsible? Uh, yeah. From everything I have read, it sounds as though she knew something was wrong with her 26-year-old “baby”. Yet he still had guns, as did she. Of course, the blame goes on the one who committed the crime first and foremost, but any time someone knows a family member is a possible danger and doesn’t take steps to prevent a tragedy, in my very humble opinion, some of the blood is on their hands.

It is said that the gunman was targeting the Christians. Those who boldly stood and proclaimed their faith made the ultimate sacrifice. I know Jesus welcomed them with open arms. I hope they received their crowns and put on their white robes PROUDLY. Some people said that they should have just lied, because they would have been forgiven. Technically, they could have. The shooter shot those who didn’t respond or responded with some other faith in the leg. Theoretically a survivor who had lied could have confessed his sin to Jesus, repented and been forgiven. And we know that once we are saved, we are always saved. Salvation is not given and then taken away. However, there are a few Scriptures that lead me to believe that denying our faith does have consequences:

“Therefore everyone who confesses Me before men, I will also confess him before my Father who is in heaven. But whoever denies me before men, I will also deny him before my Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 10:32-33).

“…If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake and the gospel’s will save it. For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul?  For what can a man give in return for his soul?  For whoever is ashamed of me and of my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, of him will the Son of Man also be ashamed when he comes in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.” (Mark 8:34-38).

“Whoever is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of them when he comes in his glory and in the glory of the Father and of the holy angels.” (Luke 9:26).

I’ll take my chances if I am in a similar situation. I fear God, not man. Apparently, those brave Christian warriors felt the same as they looked certain death in the face. SMH.

South Carolina flooding

South Carolina is going through it, and it may not be over.

So far the death toll is at 11, and I am pretty sure that number will climb. Entire neighborhoods have been devastated. Can you imagine having to rebuild your entire life?? The house you grew up in, destroyed? Your family pictures, important papers, heirlooms…gone? For me, that would be the most devastating thing… to lose those things that cannot be replaced. A home can be rebuilt, and it can be rebuilt to be even better and stronger than before, but will it still be the same? Probably not. And as for those who died–mostly by drowning–my heart goes out for them and their families. Of course I won’t have a choice but if I do, there are two ways I would never want to die–caught in a fire or drowning.

May the victims of the Umpqua Community College shooting and those of the South Carolina floods rest in peace.

Those were the heaviest stories that caught my eye, but there were some that were a tad fluffier, if you will:

McGraw-Hill to rewrite textbook after mom’s complaint

I know it wasn’t technically funny, but when I first heard that McGraw-Hill, the textbook publishing monster company, had the absolute gall to imply that slaves were paid “workers”, I laughed, a good, robust laugh. Only because it was so unbelievable. In ALL of my years of schooling, NEVER have I seen a single textbook call slavery anything other than what it was–SLAVERY. Should we also start saying that the Native Americans vacated their land voluntarily??

Jim Carrey’s girlfriend was married

And?

I guess it is considered salacious because this young woman was married and dating Jim Carrey. But I wondered why this was even news. This young lady was no celebrity, and even if she were, she is now deceased (apparently by suicide, as it seems thus far). I am just wondering why the media has no decency to at least let the family bury her, for Pete’s sake, before they start going in on her life.

Speaking of the media and their lack of decency…

Cosmo rag labels Kardashian-Jenner clan “America’s First Family

Not sure who, but someone at Cosmopolitan magazine decided to do a cover (and story, and photo spread) of the Kardashian-Jenner ladies, and label them “America’s First Family”.

If ever such a group of people achieved anything more than the fame and wealth they have already amassed by doing absolutely nothing, if they ever truly became “America’s First Family”, that would be the day I moved to our friendly neighbor, Canada. I cannot, for the life of me, understand the fascination with this group of people. I do not think any adult should let their teen or pre-teen daughter watch their show. Out of curiosity, I watched a few clips, and they way they spoke to each other AND their mother was absolutely appalling. Just as a reminder, Cosmopolitan (and who still reads that magazine anyway??) America’s First Family is that group of four Black people that live at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW. ‘Member them?

The constant disrespect leveled against these people is absolutely amazing. Disagree with Barack Obama’s politics all you will. I have not liked everything he has done. But the office of president still ought to command more respect than it has been given in recent times.

Fire your entire staff, Cosmo. And how about having the decency to keep curse words off your cover? Last I checked magazine stands were right at the front of the store, at the check-out lane, right where kids try to pick up candy, chips and pop, and your magazine talks about how to get an “Epic A–” on the front.

And AAAAAARGH my daughter is awake. I’m not sure what is going on with her sleep schedule, what has been throwing it off, but I can promise you I am going to figure it out! This is the perfect time for me to write, to write here on this blog, study my Bible and my Sunday school lesson, and to work on my manuscript. I cannot do those things with thirty pounds hanging all over me. Kids, I tell ya.

Leave a Reply

