AAAAARRGHHHH

A long time ago I said that I am not one of those moms or bloggers who over-exaggerates motherhood, nor am I one who pretends that everything about motherhood is rosy.

Sometimes my kids get on my nerves. Parenting is one of the most selfless things one can do, and sometimes I lapse back into selfishness. I’m not saying it is right, I am just being honest.

Today has been one of those days. I just want to cry and be alone, write and cry some more, read my Bible and cry some more. I was looking forward to going to Jazzercise, but I thought my daughter wasn’t feeling well, so I skipped it–one of the few times of the day that I get to focus solely on myself. It seems as though she has undergone a fascinating recovery, as she is now jumping and running all over the place, getting into everything, flitting about from one activity to the next, and making as much noise as she possibly can despite her dad attempting to get some much-needed rest.

She will settle into tearing apart one room, get bored within two minutes, and move on to something else. I am exhausted and super-annoyed. The only reason I am able to bang out this message is because she is in front of me sitting–in the bathtub.

Yep, that’s how I managed to get a few moments of quiet clarity. She loves baths.

Now that I have a second to THINK, I’d like to post a few things that bring me back down to a right state of mind when I am frazzled with my kids.

Mom cradles her stillborn baby

This photo reminds me of what could have been. I have been blessed with two healthy children. I’d be willing to bet this young lady would gladly deal with my minor irritation in exchange for the pain she must have felt at the time of this picture.

It is my responsibility to act in a manner that teaches and models good behavior to my kids. There is no room for acting on emotion when it comes to parenting. It is easier to mold a child than heal a wounded adult. Even in my irritation, I choose how to respond carefully.

Parenting is not a competition. Some ecards are funny, but this one is a sign of what is wrong with society in terms of parenting.

I am the best parent for my kids, just like parent A is the best parent for his or her kids. I

The minor irritations associated with raising kids are far outweighed by the good times. The smiles, the thank-yous, the hugs, the visits to the museum, the zoo, watching them at church, the family vacations, etc… And who knows what they will be one day.

Parenthood is not for the faint of heart. Sometimes it gets annoying and I don’t think parents are wrong for saying their kids annoy them sometimes. But it’s all about understanding that kids are little people who have to be molded and guided. How they act depends on what Mommy and Daddy put into them. If we put good things into them, good things will come out of them.

So although my daughter was annoying me a few minutes ago, I took a few minutes to gather myself and I’m cool now.

Back to it šŸ™‚ More Deuteronomy later.

P.S… The images below also soothe my mind–When I really need to, I take a mental getaway.

Image result for romantic getaway

Leave a Reply

