Feeling good…

Birds flying high, you know how I feel…

Sun in the sky, you know how I feel…

Breeze driftin’ on by, you know how I feel…

It’s a new dawn,

it’s a new day,

it’s a new life…

For me…

And I’m feeling good!

I wonder what motivated the writers of this song, fabulously delivered by Nina Simone in addition to other artists, to come up with such lyrics. Songs such as this are the reason why I have difficulty letting go of old school non-secular music. This song has been the theme of my life and for the past week or so I have been unable to get it out of my head.

Fish in the sea, you know how I feel…

River running free, you know how I feel…

Blossom on the tree, you know how I feel…

It’s a new dawn,

it’s a new day,

it’s a new life,

FOR ME…

AND I’M FEELING GOOD!

This beautiful song and the fabulous musical arrangement that accompanies it (I tend to prefer Nina Simone’s version) could have served as the backdrop to my very existence when I re-dedicated my life to Christ. As I have mentioned before, I have been saved for years. For as long as I can remember, I have known Jesus to be my Lord and Savior, but as an adult, my commitment to Him, desire to learn of Him and fully receive Him, waned considerably. I suffered the consequences because of it. Again as I mentioned before, God had to allow me to go through some bad times in order for me to come back. He allowed me to meet my now-husband and give birth to our firstborn (who is sitting right next to me now, an eight-year-old wonder with big brown eyes, long eyelashes, heart-shaped nostrils and a brain that is teeming with curiosity about…well, everything). I knew I had to be better for that little baby boy, especially after God showed me how much of a gift he gave me–my son spent his first days in the NICU, but was perfectly fine when we left the hospital, and has been okay ever since (except for his asthma, which is improving).

Dragonfly out in the sun,

you know what I mean, don’t you know…

Butterflies all havin’ fun,

you know what I mean…

Sleep in peace when day is done,

that’s what I mean…

And this old world is a new world

and a bold world…

for me, yeah!

My eyes opened up to a brand-new world and a whole new life when I fully gave myself to Christ. Everything in my life changed for the better. Even small things–things that people tend to overlook or even be annoyed by–such as the sounds of birds chirping in the morning–bring a smile to my face. I enjoy watching God’s creations big and small (with some exceptions, like mosquitoes. I am sorry, I cannot stand them–or cockroaches, but luckily we don’t have them here unless someone has a very nasty house). I am watching the fullness of Spring come forth in wonderment at just how magnificently and completely that God created and sustains this world. The birds that left us during the winter have come back. Now there are ducks for my kids to feed. I’m waiting to see butterflies and lightning bugs, who doesn’t love those??

Stars when you shine,

you know how I feel…

Scent of the pine,

you know how I feel…

Oh! Freedom is mine,

and I know how I feel…

It’s a new dawn,

it’s a new day,

it’s a new life,

for me…

and I’m feeling good!

When I re-dedicated myself, it was definitely a new dawn, a new day, and a new life for me… and I’m still feeling good. Despite everything. I am appreciative of life in general, and look for opportunities to marvel at God’s greatness and thank him for allowing me to experience 33 years worth of it. It still amazes me how the seasons flow naturally and how everything that disappeared during winter comes back. Spring and summer help me appreciate winter–if it weren’t for the winter would we truly appreciate the warmer months? Doors have continued to open for me, bestowing upon me more blessings than I ever could have imagined. Fifteen years ago I wouldn’t have been able to predict that I’d be where I am right now… Fifteen years ago my goals had nothing to do with God. Although they were noble (I wanted my degree and a good job), attaining those goals would have still left me feeling empty, because without God, I am an empty vessel. It took a while to figure that out and get to where I am now:

Finally at a point where I am satisfied. When I was worldlier I was always striving for something, and once I got it I was satisfied momentarily, then dissatisfied again. I am now like Paul, for the most part, and have learned to be content with what God has given me. Of course sometimes I want more–sometimes things get tight–but I am definitely happy with my little family and our home.

In a true love situation like I’d never imagined, able to experience the agape love Christians are supposed to have with a wonderful husband who definitely looks beyond my faults. I never expected that to happen.

Sleeping peacefully at night (or during the day or whenever LOL, thanks to MI) knowing that I have done good for God and also knowing that I have forgiveness for my sins… There is something special about not having to feel badly about myself. Years ago I would have gone to bed feeling bad about something I said or did to someone–not so much anymore, now that I am slower to anger. Despite what the world thinks, we don’t have to be catty or mean to others–that is a choice we make. I choose to be nice to everyone.

When you fully allow yourself to be filled with the Holy Spirit, the love that comes along with it–if you feed it appropriately with the Word, prayer and Christian service–you will find it easier to be loving and appreciative. Will you always be happy or like everyone? Nah. But it gets easier as your relationship with Christ grows. The world needs more love. The world needs more people who can bask in the simplicity of birds singing, flowers blooming and rivers running. Love for God=love for God’s creations, which includes other people. I feel so much better about myself loving people more than disliking them.

My body is weary today, I had a headache, and now my stomach hurts. But my family is doing well, and this morning a nice rhythmic rain came down watering the grass and flowers. I tend to like rain. Now the sun is shining, and all is well. And I’m feeling good.

My family

My family

Leave a Reply

