Know your benefits for yourself!

Blue Cross Blue Shield. Priority Health. Aetna. United Healthcare. Hap. HMOs. PPOs. EPOs. And everything else in between.

A daily (and usually frustrating) part of my job involves health insurance. There are general rules that apply to most cases-MOST insurance companies fully cover preventative visits, for example, and immunizations. After working as a receptionist for awhile and from my graduate education I have also picked up on differences between HMOs and PPOs. However, considering the fact that there are thousands of plans, there is no way I can ever learn the ins and outs of all of them.

A problem I see often concerns physical exams and PPOs. Typically PPOs require 366 days between physicals. Usually when scheduling physicals we are careful to check the date of the patient’s last physical to determine whether or not they are eligible. But guess what-gasp-sometimes we make a mistake. And wouldn’t you know it…the patient gets mad. “Why didn’t they tell me when I scheduled it?”

Ummm…it’s YOUR plan that YOU signed up for. So the better question is… “why didn’t YOU know?”

My thought is that a lot of people don’t take time to read the book they get when they sign up for their plan-the very book that is designed to help the contractee understand his benefits. It takes time, they sometimes have too much detail and get boring, etc. I get it. But at the end of the day it is still primarily your responsibility to understand your benefits for yourself. But if you don’t read you won’t know.

Amazing that a parallel exists, at least in my mind, between health insurance and the Christian walk. We have the ultimate Benefits Guide…our Holy Bible. In it we can learn the many benefits that come along with our heartfelt acceptance of Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior and obedience to the Word of God. Eternal life is the biggie, of course, but what other benefits can be found in the pages of the Bible?

Where do I begin..?

When I read the Benefits Guide, I am looking to learn about myself… how I can make myself better and be a shining light in the darkness of this world. I don’t read so I can tell Sister So-and-So about herself. I read because I love the Lord and want to live a life that is pleasing to Him despite my many flaws. Through the Bible, I have learned what true agape love is, the unconditional love Jesus showed when He took that unbelievable beating and died for us. I have learned that vengeance belongs to the Lord, and it is better to forgive someone who has wronged me and let that person answer to God instead of seeking revenge and getting spanked by God in return. I have learned to accept myself as I am, flaws and all, because I know that God gave me the shape, skin color, hair texture, talents and abilities that He wanted me to have. I don’t worry much because I know I can turn my problems over to a God who created and sustains EVERYTHING.

Just like any other person, I get discouraged sometimes. I’m not as cute or small as I used to be. I’m trying to accept my hair in its natural state and it doesn’t look good sometimes,  and people close to me have made comments.  I’m disappointed that I have yet to achieve what I had planned to achieve by the time I was this age. I got upset this past week because I got an unprofessional reponse from a woman I reached out to about a job. In every circumstance I found solace in the Word.

Luke 12:7 tells me that the hairs on my head are numbered. God took time to put each and every curl (or, according to society-nap) where he wanted it to go. And when I was complete, he was satisfied. So I try to make it a point to be satisfied with HOW God lovingly made me.

Matthew 6:26-27 reminds me that God lovingly provides for birds, so of course he will take care of my needs as he does continually for lesser creatures.

When I find myself getting annoyed with the Kim Kardashians of the world who are making a tidy sum for doing nothing of value while I have two degrees and make less than twelve and a half bucks an hour, I have to look at Proverbs 31:10-31 that I am hghly valued by God as a virtuous woman.

The Bible tells us all this and more. And even better, it is divinely tailored to fit EVERYONE’S life. It is a book rich with blessings and benefits, and when the day comes for you to answer to God, do you think you will be able to say, if he asks you a question about a sinful behavior you continued after you were saved, that you didn’t know it was wrong? Nuh-unh. When you “signed up” for Christianity, in order to understand your coverage, it immediately became your responsibility to read your Benefits Guide. Don’t wait on someone else to spoon-feed it to you. Don’t just wait for Sunday school, Sunday service or Bible study. Read t often, and reap its benefits!

Leave a Reply

