Worshiping Idle gods

Yes, I am fully aware the I used the word “idle”.

Over the past few weeks, I have been hearing stories of people who have gone the way of the Galatians, who, under the influence of a group of false teachers called Judaizers, were attempting to incorporate worldly philosophies and man-made schools of thought into their new Christian walk. Judaizers were people who decided that Christians were still required to follow Jewish traditions, customs, and ways of life. (Interestingly enough, there are several groups of people throughout the New Testament whose sole purpose in life appears to be to stand in opposition to the perfect teachings of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ–all of these groups I am researching because their origins are quite fascinating. There are the Sadducees, Pharisees and the Sanhedrin. Of note, the Sanhedrin originated from the seventy elders originally appointed to help Moses. Isn’t that something? Moses had all the help he needed in God, but instead wanted men by his side, and look what happened–but I digress).

Back to my original point. I have heard some stories, from the mouths of some celebrities and some average Janes and Joes, explain that in order for full spiritual fulfillment, they dabble in “whatever works for them”, typically under the guise of a “spiritual advisor”. In short, these people discussed combining elements of Buddhism (chanting), excerpts from the Qu’ran (as a guide of how to live, as the Qu’ran is bent toward works and has nothing to do or say about salvation), and “some” Christianity (HUGE question mark here. I apologize for not being able to fully clarify. It is hard to even make an educated guess as to how someone can practice “some” Christianity.

Problem number one: Christianity is not a sport like basketball or like learning to play an instrument. You don’t “practice” Christianity. It is a way of life based on a belief. My belief in Jesus and the full teachings of the Holy Bible guide my daily life.

So… are these people Agnostic? Do they deny the deity of Jesus? I have no idea. My assumption is that these people pick and choose the Scriptures that they like and overlook the ones that could convict them. My assumption is that these people really think that we only have this life on earth and that is why it is okay to dabble in other worldly philosophies.

The only thing I can do to combat the worldly influence is remind people of my God, who is omnipotent, omnipresent, and omniscient.

Here is where the reference to “idle” comes in. When I was reading what these people had to say, I thought about what could best be said about my God. My God is always working–He is in control of everything. He is the author of the entire world. He knows all and is all. My God parted the Red Sea, appeared as a number of theophanies including a burning bush, a pillar of cloud. Unless I am missing something, none of the founders of the other worldly spiritual movements did anything similar.

Idle=without purpose or effect; pointless; doing nothing.

My God is still alive, still working, still in control. The founders and leaders of the other spiritual movements? Dead and gone. No need to worship someone who is going to come to the earth and leave it the same way I did (and will).

Be careful not to get caught up with idle idols.

Leave a Reply

