Happy Resurrection Day!

 

Regardless of whether one believes or not, today is a celebration of the most important event in history.

Today, our Lord and Savior Jesus the Christ arose from the dead with ALL POWER in His hands, including the power to free us from the eternal damnation that is the result of our sins unless we accept Him. 

After being beaten beyond recognition, and so awfully that He could barely bear the weight of the cross, Jesus still took the sins committed by those past, present and future upon Him so that we may be able to know the Father.

So although my kids are fond of the Easter bunny and are going to have a little egg hunt, they know already what this day is about. The bunny and egg hunt are just to satisfy their childish whims. They know that the most important fact surrounding this celebratory weekend is that Jesus died, was buried and rose from the dead. His most important work was accomplished to the benefit of all mankind.

For the rest of the day I will enjoy my family and definitely the food, but I also plan to spend the end of the day in quiet introspect and prayer. I thank Jesus for dying for my many, multitudinous, unfounded, inexplicable sins. He paid a price for me that I could not. Through His blood I have been redeemed, and I will never forget it, despite my flaws and failings.

People may choose to argue over trivial matters. There are some that dispute the days we have chosen to celebrate Jesus, such as Christmas and Easter. According to them, we have no foolproof way of knowing if Jesus’ birthday is indeed December 25th or if April is the correct month to celebrate Easter. To them I say, the actual dates are not what is important–the events are what ought to be part of our daily worship. We as Christians have confidence that whether or not He was born on December 25th, the fact still stands that HE WAS BORN. We as Christians have faith that despite whether or not He died and was resurrected in April, the indisputable fact remains that HE DIED, WAS BURIED AND ROSE, THUS SECURING OUR SALVATION. In this day lies the hope and joy that comes along with being a Christian. THANK YOU JESUS!

THANK YOU FOR KNOWING WHAT I NEED BETTER THAN I DO AND PROVIDING IT FOR ME!

THANK YOU FOR TAKING AWAY THE BURDEN OF MY SINS!

THANK YOU FOR SHOWING ME HOW TO WALK IN TRUTH AND LIGHT IN THIS DYING WORLD!

THANK YOU FOR SHOWING ME HOW TO RAISE MY CHILDREN, HOW TO BE A WIFE TO MY HUSBAND, AND HOW TO REPRESENT YOU!

THANK YOU FOR NEVER TURNING YOUR BACK ON ME EVEN WHEN I WASN’T DOING WHAT YOU WANTED ME TO DO!

THANK YOU FOR WALKING WITH ME, TALKING WITH ME, SHOWING ME THAT I AM YOUR OWN!!!!!!!

HALLELUJAH! I PRAISE YOUR NAME! THANK YOU JESUS!

AMEN!!!

*Image is not mine. It was borrowed from http://123parades.com/resurrection-of-jesus-wikipedia-the-free-encyclopedia-2014/*

 

Leave a Reply

