Mid-day rant

Rant number one will be short. Over several days I have been perusing written by, for or about medical reception confuses and annoys me how people are spout off to us about things that are beyond our control, and in medical reception, that means just about everything. Basically we are just messengers who funnel information from one source to another. Requesting a prescription refill? Yes, we take the message, but guess who is primarily responsible for making sure they are done in a timely fashion? Your doctor. Upset because you have to wait thirty minutes or more for your appointment? Guess what…receptionists have nothing to do with that. Mad because you have to reschedule because you were more than 15 minutes late? The doctors implemented that policy, not the people at the front desk. 

I searched the articles as I tried to determine what compels adults to be rude, disrespectful and downright nasty to people who are already doing a dead-end job. I read dozens of postings from people complaining about receptionists being rude, and saw that the perception was that medical receptionists are uneducated and crabby. The thing is, the ladies I work with are not and are often on the receiving end of harsh treatment that they do not deserve-myself included. It is a personal struggle to come here 40 hours a week and be perceived negatively, overworked, undervalued, and disrespected. I have to keep my Bible close by.

I have also worked in retail, and dealt with rude customers but even they weren’t as bad. My confusion comes in because I have never, not once, thought to yell or berate someone who is providing me with a service. I have been upset before as a customer and as a patient, of course-but what baffles me is the short-sightedness that leads to displaced and unwarranted anger.

Rant number 2 is kind of related and I think the reason for the attitudes. I am so disheartened by our “instant” society. We discuss often in church and Moody how this world system encourages and promotes selfishness. Everything is expected to be done in an instant for me, me, me… I request a prescription, who cares that the doctot has hundreds of other patients, I expect it to be done instantly,  or I will call every hour and berate the receptionists… I have to wait 15 extra minutes for my appointment, well who cares if someone just received a devastating diagnosis and is suffering from an emotional breakdown, I have a sniffle so that is unacceptable… I could extend the example to other areas of our lives as well. As Christians sometimes we treat God the same way, expecting and demanding  for God to act on our behalf according to our will, not His, RIGHT NOW (I am guilty of this and need prayer, my brothers and sisters. I have bern praying about my job and a house and I definitely need morr patience while God is working in my life).

Although I still need a ton of improvement,  my selflessness has definitely improved as I have put more effort into my Christian walk. The fruit of selflessness is patience, empathy and trust. Scriptures about patience are numerous:

Ephesians 4:2 “Be humble and gentle. Be patient with each other, making allowance for each other’s faults because of your love”.

Isaiah 40:31 “but they who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength…”

Galatians 5:22 “But when the Holy Spirit controls our lives, he will produce this kind of fruit in us: Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness, and self-control”.

Those are just a few. There are literally dozens.

Since we have thosr Scriptures readily available at our fingertips as believers, there should never be an occasion where someone who proclaims to be a child of God is shown exhibiting a lack of patience and the selfishness that often accompanies it. The next time you are stuck in traffic, use it as time to talk to God. Pray that if there is an accident that is keeping you from moving that no one is hurt. The next time you are at your doctor’s office and your doctor is not on time, consider that the patient he or she is seeing may be a available baby who is being cleared for a major surgery and pray about it. Use your tests of your patience to your advantage by praying about the situation and asking for development of godly character. 

Your life can only improve as you move from devilish attitude focused on self to a Christ-like attitude focused on others. Think about it-think of the most selfish person you know. Nine times out of ten, they are miserable, because they can never be satisfied.

But our sufficiency lies solely in Christ.

Leave a Reply

