Uh-oh… A politically-correct pope?

I am not Catholic and I have never understood or agreed with their apparent placement of a mere mortal, the Pope, on a pedestal. However, I understand the influence of the Catholic church, and have watched with dismay as the revelations of sexual abuse and other accusations of immoral behavior have rocked the church. I was very hopeful that with this new pope a new chapter would be turned in the Catholic church’s journey.

Not only did Pope Francis make a statement that goes against what the Word of God says, he mislead a host of people who are not allowed to read the Bible for themselves. For shame, Pope Francis.

The link to the article is below:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/05/22/pope-francis-good-atheists_n_3320757.html

In a nutshell, according to Pope Francis, everyone who does good works for God, even atheists, will be redeemed.

WRONG! WRONG! WRONG!

Is the Catholic Bible different from the one I own? The one that specifically states the following:

Psalm 14:1 “The fool says in his heart there is no God.”

Titus 3:5: “Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing the Holy Ghost”…

Ephesians 2:8-9: “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast”.

John 14:6: “Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

 

So Pope Francis, in essence, told about a billion people that they don’t need to accept Jesus as their Lord and Savior. All they have to do is good works and God will be pleased. I know Pope Francis has better things to do than read blogs on WordPress, but I wish I could get a message through to him that could sum up the damage he did by making such a Biblically false statement. How many people were on the brink of accepting, and now see no need to? How many people who already do not believe are further convinced that they do not need to? And how can someone who does not even believe in God do good works for God?

Pope Francis will have to answer for what he said, and no doubt there will be some blood on his hands. I was aghast when I read that statement.

Political correctness has no place in Christianity. Political correctness is for the world… it is to appease man, to make people feel like whatever wrong they are doing is okay. That type of attitude does not help anyone! It would not have helped me when I was out in the world to have an influential person tell me it was okay to have a couple drinks, because everyone else was having more… or that it was okay to sleep with a guy, because there were other girls who were having sex with multiple partners… So my infractions were minor. It does not work that way!

Of course, Pope Francis is not the only influential person who has made erroneous claims about Christianity and God. Let us not forget those who preach prosperity, or the pastors that are satisfied to have their congregation worship them and not God.

Christians, we have to do better. The statement made by the Pope must be renounced.

What is almost funny is that there have been negative responses from the group of people he was aiming to please by making this statement:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/staks-rosch/dear-pope-atheists-dont-need-redemption_b_3332013.html

As if you cannot tell from the link, an atheist blogger is telling Pope Francis thanks, but no thanks: We atheists do not need your God’s redemption. The irony!

I know I have been neglecting my study of Exodus. These past couple of weeks have been busy. I have come up with a brand new project proposal for my capstone course. It is a very good one–development and implementation of a pressure ulcer prevention program. I should have started with that anyway. The Christian organization I originally contacted just stopped responding to me. I was having a difficult time getting out of work to get to them anyway. The class I was taking for Moody Bible Institute came to an end for the summer, so I have a bit more time, and even more reason to get into my Bible.

I am going to get my ribs ready for tomorrow, and get my Exodus post ready for tonight or tomorrow, but I had to get my pope rant off my chest. I was really disturbed by that.

2 thoughts on “Uh-oh… A politically-correct pope?

  1. It bears noting (and it is, perhaps, unsurprising) that the Huffington Post is not good at theological nuances and the article is, at best, misleading about what the Pope actually said and meant. The Catholic Church makes—and has long made—a division between redemption (Christ’s death offers redemption to all) and salvation (the acceptance of that redemption). So saying that atheists are redeemed, in Catholic theology, is not the same thing as saying that they are saved.

    This is not to say that Catholicism doesn’t have a more open view of salvation than, say, Calvinism. Catholicism does not exclude the possibility that God’s saving power could—through workings only known to God himself—extend to those who do not explicitly declare themselves Christian. However, leaving that aside, Pope Francis didn’t make a statement for or against the possibility or the likelihood of the salvation of atheists. HuffPo just spun the story that way.

    • People like yourself and I understand the concepts of redemption and salvation. The broader implication here is that for people who do not know, those concepts are tied together. Most people do NOT have those ideas separated. If the Pope wished to make such a statement, perhaps further explanation would have been warranted.

      Yes, we know Christ redeemed us all with His shed blood, but what was NOT said was that only those that accept Him are saved, and that is where the statement should have gone. As it reads, it appears that the Pope implied that good works was enough to get someone into heaven. Believe me, this is what people think! The only reason I looked up this statement is because I heard people talking about it, and this was what they thought he was saying.

Leave a Reply

