My cup runneth over!!!!

…With job interviews, that is.

I was disappointed a few weeks ago after I made a vow not to apply to another jobs, in anticipation of at least getting an interview with one job in particular that I really wanted. After a brief period of disappointment after I received an email notification that the posting had been filled–meaning I had not even been considered–I quickly recovered and moved on. Obviously is was not the job God wanted me to have.

I had three… yes, three interviews yesterday.

All of them are with excellent, well-established organizations, all of them within health care. As I explained to the first interviewer, I do not search for jobs, find one I like, and just go ahead and apply without doing some research. Not anymore, at least. When I was desperate and just wanted a job, I did that, but now as I get closer to approaching my graduation (my last course starts today!) I am intent on securing employment with a reputable healthcare organization. It would be a blessing to work for either of those three organizations. For the first, I was blown away by the impressive credentials of the practicing doctors, and the atmosphere seemed pretty intimate. The woman who interviewed me was just adorable 🙂 It was obvious that they are taking the search for that position seriously, and that shows me that they really are interested in finding an applicant who will be with them for the long haul, not someone they will just toss away. Her enthusiasm for her organization came through throughout the entire interview, and that to me was a positive sign.

I had some time to kill so I walked around the mall until the next–my day was totally free other than the interviews. The second one happened with the organization where I had my prenatal care for my son. As I have had experience with them, I know they are a wonderful reputation and treat their employees well. The last interview was with my previous employer.

I’d like to think I interviewed well. My opinion of interviews is simple–recruiting, training, and hiring new employees costs a lot of money. No organization wants to get a person in there who will be a total loss. I appreciate when interviewers take their job seriously, it does not intimidate me. When I go into an interview, I think to myself–they’re going to ask me some questions, and I am going to answer. Simple as that. I have facts to back me up and people willing to attest to my superior job performance. I know some people embellish their resumes or inflate their accomplishments, but I do not. Why? Number one because I don’t like lying. Number two, because they can easily find most of those things out.

Speaking of jobs, I came across yet another scam. Here is the email, and I’ll put in bold why I knew it was a scam right away (other than the fact that I had received a similar email before). Mind you, the advertised job was for a CLINIC RECEPTIONIST:

   How are you doing today ? Thanks for the e-mail and the interest in taking up the position advertised on Craigslist. I’m a sculptor by profession. I have clients spread all over The States and in different parts of Europe. I would have loved to meet with you to talk about this job but I am currently away on a business trip. I return to the States in less than two months, so I won’t be able to conduct a face to face interview now. Please note that this position is not office based for now because of my frequent travels and tight schedules, it’s on a part-time, work from home basis allowing lots of flexibility for you.

I am looking to employ an assistant who would be required to do some errands and minor book-keeping. I’ll have my mail diverted to a local post office box to you. I’ll require you to visit the post box two to three times in a week as some would need immediate attention and some would be payments from clients which you would be required to process on my behalf. I would prefer any mail containing payments from my clients delivered to your front door.

I’ll give you instructions on what to do with the mails as they come through. All expenses and taxes will be covered by me. You will work between 10 and 15 hrs a week. I intend to pay you $400 weekly. I need your service because I am frequently out of town as I have projects I am supervising currently in the United Kingdom. I’ll certainly meet up with you when I return and then we can talk about the possibility of making this long term. Let me know if you are able to handle the position.

In cases where you have to do some shopping for me, I’ll email you the list of what to shop for and specific stores in your area if necessary, no heavy duty things though.

I will provide clear set of instructions for each task I need done as well the funds to cover them. If you are interested,I want you to provide\re-affirm me with the following details:-

FULL NAME:
HOME ADDRESS:
CITY:
STATE:
ZIP CODE:
SEX:
MARITAL STATUS:
AGE:
CURRENT OCCUPATION:
CELL PHONE #:
HOME PHONE #:
ALTERNATE EMAIL ADDRESS(IF ANY):
PRESENT OCCUPATION:

I will be expecting your response in regards to my request. Hope to read from you soon.

Regards,
John Smith.
Tel : +1 323-372-3040
http://p9gallery.com/index.html.

 

Here was my response, and again, I’ll let you know if I get a response, but don’t hold your breath:

I find it very interesting that the duties you described below have NOTHING to do with being a CLINIC receptionist. I also find it interesting that you requested my age and marital status. In a LEGITIMATE job offering, those questions would be considered ILLEGAL. So tell me, how many people fall for this crap?

As I have said before, I have nothing but contempt for thieves.

I am not going to allow these pathetic people to steal my joy. I know now that when I hunt for anything on Craigslist I have to be wary of the source and do some research. Indicator number one is that in most of those positions, the name of the organization is not listed, although that is also the case in some of the legitimate postings. Either way it goes, I am done applying for jobs, in anticipation that I will get one of those three. I would love either one of them. I prayed before each of them, asking for guidance, asking to not be nervous, and asking that if that is the job God wants me to have He will grant it to me, and if not, to help me bear the disappointment and not be discouraged. I believe that is exactly what God will do for me!

2 thoughts on “My cup runneth over!!!!

  1. Hi, I was wondering if you ever got a reply after you sent your email. Just like you I received an email response almost identical to the one you listed above. Thanks for sharing your story and helping me avoid any further troubles. -Katrina

    • I did not receive any response, and admittedly, I did not expect to. Good luck with your job search. I know it is difficult and even more frustrating knowing there are people out there willing to engage in such dishonesty.

Leave a Reply

